East Acton Primary School "Growing Together"

The Curriculum at East Acton Primary

The National Curriculum covers KS1 (year 1 and 2) and KS2 (year 3 to 6) and builds on the work of the Foundation Stage Framework.

  • At East Acton Primary, children are taught a total 13 subjects during KS1 and 2,
  • English, Mathematics and Science are Core subjects.
  • The Foundation Subjects are: Art and Design, Computing, Design and Technology, Languages (KS2), Geography, History, Music, Physical Education.
  • We also teach teach Religious Education and Personal, Social, Health and Economic Education(PSHE) - the PSHE scheme we follow from the Ealing Local Authority includes age appropriate Sex and Relationships Education.
  • At East Acton Primary, teachers plan half termly topics and use cross-curricular links as much as possible e.g. developing reading and writing skills through History topics; using Mathematics skills during Science topics. 
  • English and Mathematics are taught every day.
  • Children in Year 1 and those in Year 2 who do not yet know their letter sounds follow a phonics scheme called Read, Write, Inc.
  • French is taught weekly as a modern foreign language from year 3 onwards.
  • Children are taught to swim in Year 4, visiting Acton swimming baths and again in year 5 and 6.
  • Years 3 have whole class ukulele tuition.
  • We have many after school clubs which vary from term to term - all year groups from Reception upwards have the chance to attend an after school club.
  • Curriculum Letters are provided to parents at the start of each term, outlining what will be taught in each year group.


For more information about the National Curriculum that we are following, please visit the Department for Education (DfE) website by clicking here or click the following link for a parent's guide to the National Curriculum: Parents_Complete_Guide.pdf


Early Years Foundation Stage - Reception

Children in the Early Years follow the Foundation Stage Curriculum.  This is based on seven key areas of learning:

  1. Communication and language development involves giving children opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves; and to speak and listen in a range of situations.
  2. Physical development involves providing opportunities for young children to be active and interactive; and to develop their co-ordination, control, and movement. Children must also be helped to understand the importance of physical activity, and to make healthy choices in relation to food.
  3. Personal, social and emotional development involves helping children to develop a positive sense of themselves, and others; to form positive relationships and develop respect for others; to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups; and to have confidence in their own abilities.
  4. Literacy development involves encouraging children to link sounds and letters and to begin to read and write. Children must be given access to a wide range of reading materials (books, poems, and other written materials) to ignite their interest.
  5. Mathematics involves providing children with opportunities to develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems; and to describe shapes, spaces, and measures.
  6. Understanding the world involves guiding children to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.
  7. Expressive arts and design involves enabling children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role-play, and design and technology.